Wednesday, January 27

Lionsgate Announce Next March For Sci-Fi Thriller ‘The Hunger Games’ Release

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Gary Ross (‘Seabuscuit’, ‘Pleasantville’) will helm the first of Suzanne Collins’ adapted tales from her novel ‘The Hunger Games’. And now the sci-fi thriller has been given a release date, thanks to Lionsgate. The date in question is that of 23 March 2012. Both David Slade (‘Hard Candy’, ’30 Days of Night’, ‘Eclipse’) and Sam Mendes (‘American Beauty’, ‘Revolutionary Road’) were originally considered for the job but Ross pipped them both. Check out ‘The Hunger Games’ plot deets below.

“HUNGER GAMES – the first in a novel trilogy by Collins – takes place in an unidentified future time period after the destruction of North America, in a nation known as Panem. Panem consists of a wealthy Capitol and twelve surrounding, poorer districts. As punishment for a previous rebellion against the Capitol, every year one boy and one girl between the ages of 12 and 18 from each district are selected at random and forced to participate in the Hunger Games, a televised event where the participants, or “tributes”, must fight to the death in a dangerous outdoor arena until only one remains.

The story follows fatherless 16-year-old Katniss Everdeen, a girl from District 12 who volunteers for the 74th Games in place of her younger sister, Primrose. Also participating from District 12 is Peeta Mellark, a boy whom Katniss knows from school and who once saved Katniss’s life by giving her bread when her family was starving.”

To be released on 23 March 2012.

‘The Hunger Games’s Katniss Everdeen
'The Hunger Games's Katniss Everdeen

Share This Post
0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments